Florida's Graduated Drivers Licensing law
This measure, to keep teens safer during their first year of driving, has three stages:
1. Learner's license
Teens must be at least 15 years old to apply and must have completed the following, in addition to the signed parental consent form:
- Traffic Law and Substance Abuse course
- Written test
- Vision test
- Hearing test
A learner's license allows teens to drive during the day during the first three months and up until 10 p.m. thereafter, and always with a fully licensed driver at least 21 years old in the front seat.
2. Intermediate license
Teens must be at least 16 with a 1-year-old learner’s license and without any traffic convictions before taking the driving skills test. Parent/guardian must certify the teen has practiced at least 50 hours behind the wheel, 10 of which must be at night. Intermediate license privileges are age based:
- At 16, independent driving is allowed between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m. At other times, they must be traveling to or from work or accompanied by a fully licensed driver at least 21 in the front seat.
- At 17, independent driving is allowed between 5 a.m. and 1 a.m. At other times, they must be traveling to or from work or accompanied by a fully licensed driver at least 21 in the front seat.
3. Full privilege license
• At 18, restrictions are removed and full privileges are granted.
- Florida Department of Motor Vehicle Services, Palm Beach County locations
- Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles' Online Appointment Service and Information System
- Drive with CARE - Florida Drivers Guide for Parents and Teens
- Department of Motor Vehicles Florida, Florida First Time Driver
- Keys2Drive: AAA Guide to Teen Driver Safety
- Safety Council of Palm Beach County
- Safe Kids teen drivers page
- Dori Slosberg Foundation
- Palm Beach County Library System and Driving-Tests.org free practice tests